Tourist & Resident Guide to Iran

Sunday, June 26, 2011

The Provinces of Iran

Iran has 31 provinces or ostan each governed by a provincial governor-general. Sistan and Baluchistan is the largest Iranian province by area, slightly bigger than Kerman. Tehran is the largest by population by some distance and has the highest population density.

The provinces are further divided into counties (shahrestan), and then subdivided into districts (bakhsh) and sub-districts (dehestan).

Iranian Music CDs Books on Iran Guide to Tehran